Decisions, Decisions

OK. You know you want to teach English in another country. Now what?

You may have narrowed it down to which countries you’re interested in, but how do you GET there? I’ve been researching a few different organizations and programs that offer opportunities to either apply, go, and teach or give you a TEFL certification and help you find a job. I haven’t necessarily narrowed it down myself just yet, so I will have to make some calls, do a bit of reading, and try to make things clearer for all of us.

I have a particular interest in France since I’ve studied French since the eighth grade and spent a semester abroad in college. Some of my first internet rovings uncovered a great program through the French government called the Teaching Assistant Program in France (TAPIF). Upon acceptance, assistants are assigned a region and one or more schools to assist. You would not be the main teacher, just an assistant, though I’ve read several blogs that say how much preparation you will do really depends on the class and the teacher. There is also a limited amount of time you’d be teaching: approximately 12 hours per week!

This program, though, requires a minimum of a B1 level proficiency in French, which should be fine for me if I just brush up my skills a little. It has been about 4 years since I’ve really spent time speaking it. Applications for the 2014-2015 school year will be available in October.

http://highereducation.frencheducation.org/teach-in-france

Should I not be accepted to the program, my other option would be to get a TEFL certification and find my own job in any country that wants me. I’ve read most about the International TEFL Academy, and I have to say, the thing I like most about them is that they provide lifetime job search guidance. They even provide a nice Country Comparison Chart which lists many useful bits of information like approximate salary, chance of making a profit, peak hiring season, estimated startup costs, and more.

http://www.internationalteflacademy.com/

I will have to research more before I make a decision, and I would like to know more about other schools as well.

So, until next time!

Leave a Reply

